top of page

Internship - Week 1 - Start


Hey There,

I am a 20 year old student, currently studying Game Engineering at Saxion, university of applied sciences. I just started my programming internship at Gray Lake Studios. I'm going to try and blog as much as possible about what I'm currently working on for my Internship. Currently the studio is working on an Android/IOS app called ProDnD. This app lets you create a wide range of randomly generated dungeons to use in all of your tabletop role-playing sessions. This means that you can expect a lot of talk about random generation in future blog posts. Besides the random generation I'm hoping to dive head first into some very interesting artificial intelligence. Combined, this should make for some technically challenging blog posts that anyone interested in random generation should enjoy and find helpful.

 

First week

Well, this week was mostly about getting to know how everything works at Gray Lake Studios. Don't expect anything amazing yet. I was given a list of simple tasks familiarize myself with all the systems/programs at play.

  • Download the app and play with it. Figure out everything that is possible.

  • Research some web based dungeon generators and note you're findings.

  • Get a feel for the (naming) conventions/rules/shortcuts for things like GitHub, Reddit, the app, and programming IDE.

  • Look at the current generators, figure out how they work and mess around with them.

These Tasks really helped me get a feel for the project. Next week I hope to start programming on some generators and tell you a bit about how they work.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Lars Temmink

Game Programmming Portfolio

bottom of page